CIARA “PRAYS” TO BE RELEASED FROM JIVE RECORDS

In an usually candid move, R&B singer Ciara has taken to her Facebook page to address the rumors that she had been dropped from her current record label, Jive Records, and express her annoyance about how her past two albums (which have severely underperformed in comparison to her first two) have been handled.

Read the entire must-read post and see my commentary on Ciara’s situation after the cut

First the actual statement, straight from Ciara’s Facebook page:

To my fans:

This week the net has been a buzz of the rumor that I have been dropped from my label. At this point that rumor is false.. It is true that I have asked and I pray that my label will release me. I have had some great times and success with my label, but sometimes like all great things, it’s at that point where I feel we don’t share the same views on who I am as an artist. The past two albums have been very frustrating for me. At times there were songs I chose to lead a project and I was ignored! This project, I even tried to get “Gimmie Dat” started I spent tens of thousands of my own money only to hear the radio PDs tell me my label didn’t want the song played. I even spent more than one hundred thousand dollars out of my pocket on the video to bring my vision to it and still no label support. I do understand that some labels are not financially supporting their artists and I have become one of them. You, my fans, know that I strive to do my best to deliver to my you the best songs and creative vision I possibly can. I’m dedicated to my music, performance and to my fans! I’ve tried to be a team player with the label only to have compromised what I truly believed and was not given the right opportunity to promote and inform my fans of the release of this album. I have so much of me as an artist I still want to give to the world and my fans. A release would allow me to go be creative with people who care and understand me as an artist. In a short time, I will be able to bring to you a new music energy and a visual excitement! Thank you so much for standing by me through the good, bad, and the confusion. I love you all.

Love Ciara

LOTS told to us right there. While it was obvious that Ciara was having problems with her management and label, you really understand or even believe the extent it went to until we hear it from Ciara’s mouth.

There are some costs labels haven’t been shelling out for singles, but to give nothing for “Gimme That” forcing Ciara to fund it herself (which isn’t the worst thing in the world, but still what’s the point of a record label then?) and then barring it from radios? That’s just messed up. It’s as if they want her to fail? Or maybe that’s not how they want Ciara to be represented, regardless it’s a HUGE point of conflict and should not be happening with a huge artist like her. And while she is a big star, she can’t call up morning shows and book herself for performances–that’s not how it works.

The thing is, her material has not been lacking–Ciara has had some truly great material (such as from her third album Fantasy Ride “Turntables” featuring Chris Brown, “Work” featuring Missy Elliott, “G Is For Girl (A-Z)” or “High Price” featuring Ludacris, and then a ton of strong material like the future smash that never will be “Turn It Up” featuring Usher, “Heavy Rotation,” “You Cant Get It,” and “Wants For Dinner.”) and if the material WAS lacking we could attribute her lack of success to that. But she has better or similar material than many of her contemporaries who are doing miles better her (the prime example is Keri Hilson).

So now it actually makes sense the speculation that it seemed as if Jive was trying to make her fail. This latest album was pushed back so many times that any impact the surprise hit first single “Ride” has already faded away. The next 2 singles did barely anything, and didn’t matter by the time the album came out anyway. The fact reamins, it’s not the first an artist got caught in label politics. Albums sometimes sit on the shelves of record executives for months, years if there is no obligation in the contract to release it, so perhaps Ciara should just be happy Jive released the album? We’re still waiting for the completed albums of Lupe Fiasco and JoJo which are supposedly seeing the light of day in 2011 despite being finished over a year ago.

So while Ciara continues to pray for a new record label, I truly hope it happens to her. She CAN come back with the right pushes and promotions. A song like “Turn It Up” would not lose, and if it ever gets released (probably won’t to be honest) it would at least be a big radio hit.

How can you hold back an artist who gives performances like this?


This entry was posted in Industry News, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CIARA “PRAYS” TO BE RELEASED FROM JIVE RECORDS

  1. lele says:

    she can’t sing point blank. Performances do not sell music just makes good entertainment. That was proven with the Ride video. Million of views but still no one brought her album. Plus to many have given up on her.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention CIARA “PRAYS” TO BE RELEASED FROM JIVE RECORDS | -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

