NEW MUSIC: “HOLD IT AGAINST ME” BRITNEY SPEARS + ALBUM RELEASE DATE

Well it’s here! Although I’m not seeing any sign that her or her label actually released the new Britney Spears single “Hold It Against Me” the track is available has officially hit the internet!

With a heavy synth backing, the song begins just like any other Britney Spears song, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing because I’m luckily not rolling my eyes at the producers using the same tricks everyone else is in the music. Regardless, the song is somewhat unremarkable until the bridge. It is then that I truly have to give Ms. Spears props by giving a proper dubstep breakdown that doesn’t sound watered down at all and is quite a risk for mainstream music. The dubstep breakdown comes complete with some breathy “ahs!” from Brit, and then some lyrics that truly bring the song to the next level.

It is after the breakdown that the song takes on a whole new darker, grinding character on the final chorus making the song end much stronger than it would have had it kept the same sounds from the previous choruses. I also just need to add how I love the double entendre of “If I said I want your body now, would you hold it against me?”

While I’m happy with the single (well most half the single) I must admit that I’m more excited to see the other tracks Britney has to offer. Her first singles have sometimes been pretty bad (Womanizer, Me Against The Music…) so I’m not letting this effect how the rest of the material may be. If you haven’t checked it out yet, I did a feature about the sounds and influences of the upcoming album which you can read about HERE.

The album has also received a release date of March 15th that is already up for pre-order on the Sony Music site with a regular and deluxe version available.

What do you think of the song?!

“Hold It Against Me” Britney Spears

This entry was posted in New Music, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NEW MUSIC: “HOLD IT AGAINST ME” BRITNEY SPEARS + ALBUM RELEASE DATE

  1. SARA MARIE BARKER says:

    Britney’s new song is awesome i can’t wait till March 15 cause i’ll be 1st in line to get her new cd!!!!!!!
    LOVE U BRIT!!

Leave a Reply

